Cycling Playlist

25 06 2007

ipod_cycling_ipedal_1.jpgI mentioned a few months ago that I was trying to work up a playlist of songs about cycling. After giving my personal information to i-Tunes, and doing a few Google searches I was able to come up with the following list of songs. Some songs’ connections to cycling might be a bit of stretch so use your imagination. . . .

  1. Bicycle Race–Queen
  2. I’ve Seen All Good People: Your Move–Yes (this I admit has nothing to do with cycling, I just like the song and thought it fit.)
  3. My White Bicycle–Tomorrow
  4. Magic Carpet Ride–Steppenwolf
  5. Angle on My Bike–The Wallflowers
  6. Speed of Sound–Coldplay
  7. The Long Way Home–Norah Jones
  8. The Acoustic Motorbike–Luka Bloom
  9. Fast Cars–U2 (the bridge is “all these fast cars will do me no good. . . .” Again a stretch, but I have to include at least one U2 song.)
  10. Down on the Corner–CCR
  11. Under Pressure–Queen & David Bowie
  12. Bike–Pink Floyd (Landis?)

I know only about half the songs on this list have anything to do with cycling, but you would be surprised how hard it is to find songs on this topic. More importantly, finding songs that are pleasant to listen to. If you know of any other songs I have left out, let me know.

Actions

Information

7 responses

25 06 2007
Andrew

You should have used U2’s “Trying to throw your arms around the world”. There’s at least a reference to a bicycle in that one.

25 06 2007
slackerman

“And a woman needs a man, like a fish needs a bicycle. . . .you’ve been trying to throw your arms around the world.”

28 06 2007
jjharrell

It seems like Under Pressure pops up everywhere, that must be the universal song for all songs I’ve decided. First Andrew’s ring tone, now on iCycle playlists across the world. Kind of like when you put your hands on your neck, everybody knows that means you’re choking…I think just singing the chorus to that song should let everybody within hearing distance know that you’re singing….just in general.

10 07 2008
Antonio Mogavero

The distance from cake

28 07 2008
Joe

C’mon, ya gotta have “Tour de France” by Kraftwerk!!

7 01 2010
CrazyJourneys Daily Bike News covering ultra, toendurance nutrition videouring and endurance cycling

[…] to Running to Stand Still for the cool cycling picture used in the title of this […]

14 04 2010
Lori

Faster Ride by Cartel

Move Along by All American Rejects

Leave a Reply

