Being Hawkeye’s Roomate

7 08 2008

One of my favorite things about having cable is TV Land.  For some reason whenever I turn on the TV,  I see this show is on and I can’t help but tune in.  It has been my favorite sitcom for a few years now in spite of the look I get from people my own age when I tell them this.  Not to mention it has always been the only show which has made me laugh out loud and get “a little verklempt.”

It hasn’t always been my favorite show.  When I was in middle and high school I thought it was the worst show on television.  I never understood why my Dad always seemed to be watching it.  There were clues, however, that I would one day see the light and admit the comic genius of Hawkeye and crew.  My Mom has told anyone who would listen that as a baby, whenever I would hear the tune “Suicide is Painless” (the theme song the M*A*S*H) I would settle down and eventually fall asleep.

Even though I know each of the characters in this show always complain about how much they hate being there, I decided long ago that if I had to be a character in a TV show, it would be M*A*S*H.  I have never watched a show with characters who are more likable and do something meaningful at the same time.  As much as I liked watching Seinfeld of The Simpson’s, the character’s lives always seemed incomplete at best and depressing the rest of time.  It begs the question, though: if you had to choose any television show to become a character in which one would it be.  It should be noted that you are not taking the place of a character, but being added to the ensemble.

Curious to know what you think. . .

Actions

Information

One response

8 08 2008
ninepoundhammer

Ashlee and I have been watching the Season 1 DVD’s over the past few months. It’s a good show, though it became a caricature of itself and ‘jumped the shark’ several times during the last season.

I remember watching the last episode back in 1983–along with about 150 million other people.

My favourite line from the series is when Hawkeye says: ‘Well, you know what they say–“To err is Truman!”‘

Leave a Reply

